About Us

Mission Statement

The mission of the Langlade County Historical Society (LCHS) is to preserve, advance, and disseminate knowledge in the history of Langlade County. This is done by the maintenance of a museum, local historical artifacts and archives, and historic sites on the museum campus. In addition, the LCHS prepares programs and publications dealing with local history. The LCHS is affiliated with the Wisconsin Historical Society.

The museum is managed by a curator and governed by a nine member board.


Langlade County Historical Society
Open Year Round: 
Thurs. - Sat.  10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Open May - October: 
Tues. - Sat. 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.


Admission Policy: There is no charge to tour the museum although a suggested donation is greatly appreciated. Suggested donations are $5 for adults and $2 for children. Children under six years old are free. Donations are our most important source of revenue. From Memorial Day through Labor Day visitors are invited to tour the Deleglise cabin and the 440 steam locomotive cab and caboose by first checking in at the museum.



For donation policy, call the museum at 715-627-4464 and speak to Mary Kay Wolf.


Memberships are for file calendar year 
January 1 through December 31

Individual Member-one year
Individual Member-three year
Family Membership-one year
Family Membership-three year
Jr. Historian (18 or younger) one year
Business/Professional member-one year
Life Member

Click to Download PDF Membership Form

Staff & Volunteers

Staff and Volunteers: Mary Kay Wolf is the curator and the only paid staff member of the Historical Society. Volunteers greet visitors at the entry desk to provide information and show visitors the cabin and locomotive (in season). Volunteers are also important for specific tasks such as landscaping the grounds, setting up display areas, and doing office work. Volunteers are needed who can come in periodically or on a regular basis. For more information call the museum at 715-627-4464 and speak to Mary Kay Wolf.

Mary Kay Wolf
Mary Kay Wolf, Curator
Landscaping around the museum
Landscaping at the museum









Board of Directors

Board of Directors: The Historical Society is overseen by a board of nine members, each elected for a three year term. Terms are staggered so that in a given year three members have terms that expire. Election of officers occurs at the annual meeting, always held in November.  The current board consists of:  Joe Hermolin (president), Lisa Haefs (vice president), Diane Zuelzke (treasurer), Gary Whitman (building and grounds chair), At Large: Dean Blazek, Fran Brown, Nancy Bugni, Glenn Bugni, Carol Feller Gottard